Tinder Panic Button: Does it share user data?

tinder panic button

Sharing is caring!

Tinder announced last month several innovations in the field of user safety and among them stood out new functionality that is currently only present in the United States: Tinder Panic Button with which to alert emergency services in case of problems during an appointment.

Searching for a reliable secure VPN? Check the TechCoderGuru recommendation: ProtonVPN 2.0

This functionality, provided in association with a company called Noonlight as we counted.

Then questioned in the last few hours due to the data sharing it carries out with third-party companies of an advertising nature.

Data in exchange for greater security?

tinder panic button security

The US publication has analyzed the behavior of the Noonlight application, which must be installed when enabling

Tinder’s new security feature, and says it has found “a handful of important names in the advertising technology sector“.

These companies, including Facebook and YouTube, would handle details of the application every minute.

As we explained last week, to make this security system possible.

The service needs to know data such as the exact location, the name of the user to protect if necessary or phone number, among other data.

Obviously, if the intended objective is sought.

But do they share private information through Tinder Panic Button?

However, they say, “what is not so clear are the” unnamed “third parties with whom they reserve the right to work

“We do not sell user data to third parties for marketing or advertising purposes”, they say from Noonlight.

In its terms, the company designates users who authorize them to “share information.

Even with our business partners, suppliers and external consultants who perform services on our behalf.

Or who help us provide our services.

Such as accounting, management, technical, marketing or analysis.

According to Nick Droege, co-founder of Noonlight, the service uses third parties such as those detected only to understand the attribution of standard users and improve the internal messaging of the application.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares